Friends Are Like Mirrors

friends-are-like-mirrors

Have you ever noticed that friends reflect some qualities we have back at us?

I made a friend last year, who is at the same spiritual level I am, so we talked enthusiastically about spiritual stuff plus our love for our yoga practice. We shared many things and, as we got to know each other better, our personalities surfaced, since we were honest to each other and did not want to hide behind any masks, as most of us usually do to survive in society.

Almost a year later, I saw a quality on this friend that jumped at me and bothered me a lot. I stopped to investigate why it annoyed me so much, only to find out I carry it, too! So, that friend acted as a mirror as so many people do when they interact with us. I found something that needs to be worked on, but would never get noticed if this friend had not made it that clear for me. I have lost contact with this friend, and I now look back at our friendship as a treasured one because it brought me this lesson; no matter if we still keep in touch or not in the future.

So, next time you get ticked off by someone, look closely to see what is really bothering you. Then proceed to pay attention to your feelings and actions to wait for that quality to erupt, when you will finally be able to see it in yourself. Next, awareness will help you modify the behavior you would like to change.

About thowling

Peace, love and light! Thereza Howling.
This entry was posted in Spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

