A Dog Rescue

This story happened in my neighborhood yesterday, and I thought it would be fun to tell it with a poem instead of a regular text. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. The story here sounds less dramatic than it was, probably because of some humor added to it. All in all, I really do feel grateful at this time.

My mom came to visit us
A couple of months ago.
She had to share advice
Before home she could go.

She told my kids to speak
Loudly when talking to me
Because my hearing was
As bad as it can be…

She is somewhat right,
My hearing has some trouble.
Sometimes I hear voices as far
As if I were inside a bubble.

But yesterday I realized
My hearing is just fine.
It helped me solve a problem
With some help from the divine.

I had a tough night’s sleep from
Interruptions by this one dog crying.
I dreamt she was stuck in a garage,
Without food or drink, almost dying.

The next day while I walked my pup,
A neighbor passed by and inquired
If I had seen her lost old dog,
Who lately had been so tired.

Immediately I connected the dots,ravine
And took the neighbors to a place
With a steep hill ending in a ravine,
Where bushes and thorns filled the space.

After one hour of searching in the dark,
They gladly found their poor lost pet.
She was starving and barely breathing,
Exhausted, dehydrated and wet.

One more hour passed until they could
Bring the dog back up that steep hill.
The thought of being stuck down there
Sure gave my spine this long big chill.

What a relief for all of us involved –
The dog was now safe and sound!
I guess my hearing is not that defective,
And my respect for it has been newfound!

Today I feel deeply grateful
For this imperfect body of mine.
A playful scoliosis or a need for glasses,
Whatever it is, it’s just fine!

 

About thowling

Peace, love and light! Thereza Howling.
This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Dog Rescue

  1. Jacki says:

    Oh, I love your beautiful poem and the heartwarming ‘tail’ it tells.

  2. Nicole says:

    I love me a good dog rescue! Thanks to you for listening to that still small voice for guidance. We love our pups like family.

Leave a Reply

