Loving What You Do

Does your job involve something you love? If you answered yes, you may be among the lucky few!
Check out these recent statistics showing 70% of workers dislike their jobs: http://businessjournal.gallup.com/content/162953/tackle-employees-stagnating-engagement.aspx
If you answered no to my first question, don’t feel discouraged. There is hope! And this comes from me, a person who has been raised in a country where you choose your job before you turn twenty and, in most cases, you have to stick with it for life. If you deviate, it’s usually considered a failure; and if you decide to leave a job that seemed secure, you’re just considered nuts.
This morning, my teenage daughter talked to me about some sport she does and how she has noticed others doing it without trying their best, even when they are being judged for test scores. We talked a bit, and she asked, “How can people do things half-heartedly?” This sounded amazing to me; and how beautiful that she thinks this way! I grew up seeing many people doing things using maybe 5% of their hearts into their jobs. So, I proceeded to explain why some people just have to do things, because of circumstances or they are simply forced to; how many of the other kids could possibly just have been told by their paredo-what-you-lovents that they need to stick to that sport? Or maybe they just can’t gather enough courage to tell their parents they do not want to do that anymore, even if they don’t know what their reaction will be? Who knows? And that’s how this post started to take form.
I remember back in the days when I worked as a software developer. At first I enjoyed my job very much, but when bureaucracy and bosses with huge egos started to dictate the guidelines for it, it started to suck. Our creativity was shut down and overtaken by theirs, coming from people with no knowledge about computer and what was possible; and so we suffered to try to create what their minds came up with. I confess the easiest part was to make their names shine and blink on the screen when our operational system loaded, and that fed their ego beautifully! But the rest was translating their illogical ideas to a logical language so the computers could understand…
I remember a couple of days (3-6 months before I left) when I got to work and saw new requests coming from above, meaning we had to convince the computer to do ridiculously hard things that were completely meaningless in the overall picture. There was also the knowing that in a few months, when a new boss arrived, everything would have to be changed again. That discouraged me so much in the beginning of my days that even the non-productive meetings in the middle of the day seemed entertaining. Oh! How I dreaded those starts of my work day… Only my paycheck made it worthy. But, at some point in life, you stop to think: “Is this really what I want for the long run?” Little by little, the answer became a bigger no. Then, I started to switch my focus, and as I sat in front of the computer every morning I would pray out loud (to no particular God or religion), so the universe could hear me, that I wanted a job that had meaning for me; ”I wanted to make a difference and I wanted to work with what I loved”. Yes, I remember those words; they were repeated many times until my universe spun and I had to leave the job all of a sudden, even though that represented a big financial loss to me.
Two things I want to mention about the above paragraph: One is that I had no clue what I loved to do, but it did not matter, I just wanted another chance, a chance to find out. The other thing is I pronounced those words from the bottom of my heart, I really meant them. I did not mind anymore that I would lose the security of that job; the price of my health and sanity was bigger. And so I reinforced my intentions every morning. And a few months later, voila! The universe came up with the answer and offered me a choice; all I had to do was to say yes, and take that leap of faith because I was ready, after being tired of dragging myself every weekday to do something that completely lost its meaning to me. I am sure choices had come before but I wasn’t even ready to notice them.
Today, many years after that, I have found a job that fulfills me; it feeds my soul, and makes me smile from the inside. I recommend it to everyone; but before you leave your job, keep searching for what you like for at least a few weeks first, make sure the decision comes from deep inside you and that you are certain you really desire change, because when you ask with true intent, it is sure to come; you just never know when and exactly how.

About thowling

Peace, love and light! Thereza Howling.
This entry was posted in Daily Tips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Loving What You Do

  1. Cintia Costa says:

    Lindo, Thereza! Eu amo, amo meu trabalho, sinto enorme prazer em lidar com meus alunos, nos meus tão diferentes trabalhos. Mas falta ainda o trabalho com crianças pequenas, sabe. Sinto falta 😉 Mas falo constantemente desses valores brasileiros de formação – e da falta de formação de outros tipos quaisquer – pros meus alunos. Faz-se urgente que se formem e valorizem todos os trabalhos. No 1. dia do curto período em que trabalhei com crianças de rua, me pediram pra receber uns ingleses que fariam uma entrevista com as crianças, a fim de conseguir recursos ingleses pra instituição. Eu fui explicar pras crianças porquê o trabalho dos jornalistas era importante. E um dos meninos me disse: “Todo trabalho é importante.” 🙂

    • thowling says:

      Obrigada, Cintia! Que bom que faz o que gosta e, mesmo assim, nao cansa de aprender coisas novas. Voce eh uma inspiracao!
      Espero que o menino que voce mencionou e pelo menos alguns amigos dele continuem acreditando que todo trabalho eh importante, consigam vencer na vida e se tornem exemplos pra muitos outros.
      Obrigada pela visita ao blog e pelo comentario!

  2. davecenker says:

    Thanks for the encouraging and supportive words from someone who has gone through the agonizing process of releasing yourself from the “golden handcuffs”. As a software developer, I understand your angst and frustration at corporate life 😉 It is always inspiring to see others who have taken the leap of faith with no safety net below. Thank you and congratulations on finding your place in the universe 🙂

    • thowling says:

      Hi Dave! Thank you for your kind words. As a software developer, you know exactly what I am talking about. Writing codes is not just about switching to the left brain completely to be able to talk to computers; our right brain gets shoved down when we overwrite our emotions, and , sooner or later, we have to deal with it. I will tell you something else: my leap of faith was equivalent to a big fall… It hurt for a long time, but I healed and found a much brighter sunrise in the next phase. Totally worth it.
      Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment!

  3. Pingback: What Makes You Happy? | A Path of Light

Leave a Reply

