Seeds – Planting and WateringThem

I just came back from my daughter’s school. It was her presentation day, and although parents are not required to come, my daughter asked me to participate in one of the activities she would present to her peers, and I happily agreed to come along.

Hanna had to present to her peers about any topic of her interest under Psychology. After some time researching with me about her options, she chose to talk about meditation and its effects on the brain. I was so moved! I am one who truly believes meditation will make your life better, and for that reason I have been teaching her how to meditate for a couple of years now. Sometimes I go through a meditation right before her bedtime, especially when I see she is agitated and can’t fall asleep easily; sometimes she asks me to read one to her. Hanna has actually been my guinea pig for all meditations I have written this year. I have never forced it; instead, she has always accepted them openly. Children are usually very open to new concepts and trying new ideas.

Well, I guess today some fruition of all that work has been shown to me. There I was sitting among her peers, watching Hanna talk about meditation and its effects on the brain. She included results from many different studies done in the past. She was curious enough, to find out, for example, that if practiced regularly, meditation can actually increase the size of your brain. Hanna was also meticulous when bringing the topic to her peers level, when, for instance, she announced that research shows “kids who take short meditation breaks improve in schoolwork, sports and similar activities”. I was speechless to see that she also believes in it.

Anyway, time might have stopped for me right there, remembering many nights I’ve spent creating some meditation for her right on the spot, or reading her one that I had written before. And even though I could be feeling exhausted at that moment, I knew the benefits would pay off. And today as I saw her “preaching” about it to her classmates, I was surprised by yet another benefit – she also wants to spread this idea; she has experienced many of the benefits from practicing meditation, and now wants to introduce her friends to this, so they can benefit from it also. What a gift! Of course, I felt enormous gratitude for being able to watch this moment.

So, midway through her presentation, Hanna invited me to model an active kind of meditation called gibberish (as created by Osho). I explained a bit how it is, and we modeled it together for her class, including her teacher, who, without hesitation, humbly sat at a student’s chair and watched the lecture just like her students. We then proceeded to let everybody in the room join us for one minute just speaking gibberish, letting emotions flow and the chattering mind become alive. After that, we observed one minute in complete silence. And they did it! Almost thirty students between ages 10-13 flowed along with us and I felt like a veil of calmness had spread in that room. When Hanna asked for comments, the students talked about how calming it was. Some even said, “even though silence is boring, I had no problem being in silence for a minute today.” It was so gratifying to hear those comments, not because I have patented meditation, which I obviously didn’t, but to see them have contact with their inner peace, just knowing it exists, is wonderful. A seed has been planted in each one of those kids, and maybe in the future when they realize how overwhelmed they feel some days, they will use those tools to help them get centered and make the best decisions for themselves and the world.

Hanna proceeded with more data and details to prove her point, and finished the presentation with a short relaxation written by her a few months ago.  Everyone was quiet in the room, had their eyes closed and you could feel the tranquility with only a few thoughts around. This sure felt very different from when I am dealing (or trying to teach) stressed adults!

After the presentation was done, the teacher made a few comments about it, and mentioned that tears came to her eyes when she saw me and my daughter modeling the chosen technique for this class. Besides the fact that Hanna and I are very connected, had used that technique together before and knew what our goal was, the teacher said she could feel our releases as we let emotions flow through those unknown words we were creating at that moment. I agree with her, it is amazing to see any kind of feeling being expressed without diminishing other people’s feelings. Our goal from that was purely to express ourselves non-judgmentally and therefore increase our inner peace so we could then blossom with it. Yes, we can blossom from it. Have you ever experienced a big release? You feel so light afterwards you might even think you can float in midair! After that, things become clearer in your mind, and you just flow with life; your chances to blossom under any circumstances increase like the amount of leaves on the ground during fall in the Pacific Northwest.

May these kids be able to enjoy all the benefits from those words and spread what they have learned about positive ways to change our world for the better. Let’s keep planting good seeds and remembering to water them constantly!

About thowling

Peace, love and light! Thereza Howling.
This entry was posted in Daily Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seeds – Planting and WateringThem

  1. kario says:

    I am loving this! Goosebumps all over my body and a huge smile on my face! I’m so happy that Hanna has embraced this very important part of your life and I can’t wait to have you teach me gibberish so Lola and I can do it together! 😉 Congratulations, Mama!

Leave a Reply

