Morning Cleanse

You know I am not talking about bathing, right? A shower before heading out the door in the morning sure works for many people, but I am talking about another kind of cleansing – one that happens inside you! Sure, a good and healthy breakfast will help your body deal with situations better (family and colleagues will appreciate your better mood, too!), but it’s not the exact same cleansing I want to describe yet.

Let’s go through some steps you could take in the morning, right after you wake up. So, what is the first thing you do when you wake up but are still in bed? Yes, open your eyes! But, what about thinking? Do you already think about your day ahead and all tasks you are supposed to complete in the next 24 hours? Well, I suggest you go through a few other things before you start to pinpoint priorities on your to-do list.

First thing I do when I wake up is think about the dreams I had during the night. Maybe I remember them, maybe I don’t. If they were intense, I usually write a few details down in a journal, and see if it could possibly mean anything. Sometimes clues to our problems come in metaphor in our dreams. They are fun, but hard to interpret if we are not aware enough!

My second thing to do is thanking life as if I was born right before that moment. No past, no worries about the future, I just AM. So, I thank the ‘now’. One way of doing this is by saying a simple (and hopefully meaning it) thank you; maybe you say it out loud, maybe you just whisper. It doesn’t matter, the universe can hear you. I do it in a different way and thank the four elements everyday; they are air, water, earth, and fire (in the form of sun or heat, for example). As strange as it may seem to you, just take a moment to think of the meaning of each of these elements in our lives: without any of them, we would not be able to stay alive. So, in my humble opinion, they do deserve praise!

Now for my third step after waking up, and you do realize I would still be on my bed while doing this, don’t you? It is OK, I don’t feel like I am wasting my time, these steps are really mindful and empowering; so maybe you could try this for a couple days, and pretty soon it will be in your system, then you will be able to do it while doing other activities like brushing your teeth or showering, yet still really meaning it, because it comes from your heart, not your mind.

And that brings me to my next step: the heart area. This is a special area that tends to get forgotten, as we just shove things in there to be dealt with later so we can keep up with the rest of our day. The problem is we rarely get back there to deal with those issues, and they just keep piling up! So, how about “sweeping your heart area” before you start your day? This is just a metaphor, OK? J If the pile is too high, it will take a while to go through all unresolved issues and reminiscences of troubles and feelings you have accumulated. Go for baby steps then! Today you visit one or two issues, then tomorrow you choose other two, and continue until it is all clean. You will feel so much better when all hurts have been washed away from there. It is not a problem if you can never catch up and finish solving all troubles you have collected during your whole life (yes, including childhood ones!), at least you are lifting up some weight, and cleaning your heart area until it is able to shine again!

After all that cleansing, you will probably be able to see some of yesterday problems differently today or find a new way to handle them. So, hopefully the cleansing routine I described will help you feel better before your day even starts. You don’t need to follow it, this is just a suggestion, of course; or you could also modify it according to your style, but sure getting somehow clean from the inside out.

Have a wonderful day!

About thowling

Peace, love and light! Thereza Howling.
This entry was posted in Daily Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Morning Cleanse

  1. kario says:

    Lovely! I do my “cheesecloth” to remove negative energy and start fresh every night before falling asleep as my remedy to stress. This is a great way to start the day, and it gives me the excuse to stay in bed a little longer ;-).

    I loved the reference to sun and heat ;-).

  2. Mara says:

    I liked the text, so I make the same, but before going to bed .When I wake up …well today I’m at the stage of being awake and not having time to think about anything… then I just enjoy the sweeties moments while I still in bed.

Leave a Reply

